European Writers Festival

The Stories We Tell

On 20th – 21st May 2023, almost 30 authors and poets, each representing one European country or territory, will come together at the British Library for a remarkable celebration of the best European poetry and prose translated into English.

Writers including the TS Eliot shortlisted, British-born Cypriot poet Anthony Anaxagorou, bestselling Czech author and playwright Kateřina Tučková, award-winning Scottish journalist Chitra Ramaswamy, Brazilian-born Hungarian novelist Zsófia Bán, Bulgarian poet and novelist Georgi Gospodinov and Ingeborg Bachmann-Prize-winning Austrian novelist Raphaela Edelbauer will join six unique panel discussions, addressing subjects including history, war, translation and storytelling.

The festival will provide a chance to ensure that the cultural networks and exchanges between Britain and Europe continue to thrive. Each panel will be followed by a book signing with South Kensington Books, and readings and performances from the participating authors.

Organised by the European Union National Institutes of Culture (EUNIC) London in partnership with the European Literature Network and the British Library, and with the support of the Delegation of the European Union to the United Kingdom and the European Parliament Liaison Office in the United Kingdom, the European Writers’ Festival is curated by former BBC journalist Rosie Goldsmith, director of the European Literature Network and Editor-in-Chief of the Riveter magazines.

Discover the 2023 programme here.

Tickets available here.


Info on previous editions can be found here.